About the NNDC

Mission

The National Nuclear Data Center (NNDC) collects, evaluates, and disseminates nuclear physics data for basic nuclear research and applied nuclear technologies. The NNDC is a worldwide resource for nuclear data. The information available to the users of NNDC services is the product of the combined efforts of the NNDC and cooperating data centers and other interested groups, both in the United States and worldwide.

The NNDC specializes in the following areas:

There are currently 16 permanent staff members at the NNDC, including 11 with PhDs. The group includes scientific, professional, and support staff. Additionally, 6 people with a PhD degree work part-time under contract. The NNDC also hosts about 4 short-term visiting scientists and about 10-15 undergraduate interns per year.

Address

National Nuclear Data Center
Building 817
Brookhaven National Laboratory
Upton, NY 11973-5000
BNL Map
Google View

Phone: (631) 344-2902
Fax: (631) 344-2806
E-mail: nndc@bnl.gov
Internet:
https://www.nndc.bnl.gov

Contacts

Center Head David Brown (631) 344-2814 dbrown@bnl.gov
Deputy Head Elizabeth Ricard-McCutchan (631) 344-5096 mccutchan@bnl.gov
NNDC Office Letty Krejci (631) 344-5591 lkrejci@bnl.gov

For technical questions, please use the following list:

Topics
Contact
ENDF David Brown (631) 344-2814 dbrown@bnl.gov
Webmaster Benjamin Shu (631) 344-7161 bshu@bnl.gov
EXFOR
NSR
Boris Pritychenko (631) 344-5091 pritychenko@bnl.gov
ENSDF
Capture Gammas
Wallet Cards
Nuclear Data Sheets
Elizabeth McCutchan (631) 344-5096 mccutchan@bnl.gov

Staff

Staff Member
Telephone
E-mail
Ramon Arcilla (631) 344-5086 arcilla@bnl.gov
David Brown (631) 344-2814 dbrown@bnl.gov
Emanuel Chimanski (631) 344-5319 echimansk@bnl.gov
Samuel Kim (631) 344-4913 skim3@bnl.gov
Letty Krejci (631) 344-5591 lkrejci@bnl.gov
Amber Lauer-Coles (631) 344-2867 acoles@bnl.gov
Donnie Mason (631) 344-2961 dmason@bnl.gov
Andrea Mattera (631) 344-6339 amattera@bnl.gov
Elizabeth McCutchan (631) 344-5096 mccutchan@bnl.gov
Christopher Morse (631) 344-2659 cmorse@bnl.gov
Gustavo Nobre (631) 344-5205 gnobre@bnl.gov
Shuya Ota (631) 344-2305 sota@bnl.gov
Boris Pritychenko (631) 344-5091 pritychenko@bnl.gov
Benjamin Shu (631) 344-7161 bshu@bnl.gov
JoAnn Totans (631) 344-5209 totans@bnl.gov
Jin Wu (631) 344-4527 jwu2@bnl.gov

* Guest appointment

Web Statistics

The NNDC has provided remote electronic access to its databases and other information since 1986.
Access via the Web started in 1994.
The figure below shows the time evolution of the number of electronic retrievals - web, telnet and FTP - from 1996 to 2020.

History

Nuclear Data activities started at BNL in 1952 under the Brookhaven Neutron Cross Section Compilation Group, changed to the Sigma Center in 1961, which became the National Neutron Cross Section Center in 1967 and finally the National Nuclear Data Center in 1977, providing a half-century of data and expertise to the world community.
The following people have served as head of the NNDC:

An updated version the NNDC's history, prepared on its 50th anniversary, can be found here.